Skip to main content

Search form

Housing North Carolina Awards

The 2019 nomination period for the annual Housing North Carolina Awards has closed. Thank you to all who submitted nominations and good luck—winners will be announced at a special luncheon on October 7 during the NC Affordable Housing Conference.

The 30-year-old Housing North Carolina Awards honor the best in affordable housing development. Recognition is given in the following categories: Home Ownership Developments, Rental Apartments, and Supportive Housing for People with Special Needs.

 Entries are judged on:

  • Design (attractiveness, appropriateness, innovation, resource efficiency, and other factors).
  • Sustainability (provisions to ensure the property will continue to be both affordable and attractive, including deed restrictions, quality construction, energy-saving construction).
  • Contribution to the local community (including meeting market needs, furthering local policy goals, and similar factors).
  • Special features, such as supportive services to residents, creative financing partnerships, and others.

Most entries now require only a one-page application and short narrative. Applications are available online when the call for nominations starts each spring. 


If you would like to know more about the Housing North Carolina Awards, please contact Madison Fisler Lewis at 919-877-5608.

2018 Housing North Carolina Award Winners