Skip to main content

Search form

NC Housing Finance Agency Announces Appointments and Reappointments to Board of Directors, Reappointments to Housing Partnership

housing items

The NC Housing Finance Agency announces that three new appointments and seven reappointments have been made to its Board of Directors and five members have been reappointed to the NC Housing Partnership.

The new board members are Michael P. Ayotte of Morganton, Leigh T. Brown of Harrisburg and James C. Kearney, Sr. of Henderson.

These board members join reappointed board members R. Gene Davis, Jr. who serves as chair, Chris C. Parrish, Paul L. Kennedy, M. Charles Mullen, Tom E. Smith, Paul S. Jaber and James W. Oglesby as well as standing board members Patricia G. Garrett who serves as vice chair, Joseph D. Crocker and Elizabeth P. Foley.

The 13-member board of directors oversees the operations of the NC Housing Finance Agency, which was created by the General Assembly in 1973. The Governor, Speaker of the House of Representatives and President Pro Tempore of the Senate each appoint four members, who in turn elect the 13th member. 

The Agency also announces that five members of the NC Housing Partnership were reappointed to three-year terms. These individuals are Roy Helm, Michael Lazzara, Tom Smith, Sallie Surface and Rita Thuot.  

The NC Housing Partnership sets policy for the use of the NC Housing Trust Fund, created by the General Assembly in 1987. Members are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and President Pro Tempore of the Senate. The Agency administers the Housing Trust Fund and pays all operating costs.

For more information about the NC Housing Finance Agency’s board of directors or the NC Housing Partnership, visit

The North Carolina Housing Finance Agency, a self-supporting public agency, has financed 255,000 homes and apartments since its creation in 1973.